Today at my library – Monsters!

Posted: January 27, 2007 by LSO in Uncategorized
Tags:

Well, not real monsters, but Monster Trucks. As some of you know I’m the automotive librarian for the Universal Technical Institute in Avondale, AZ and today we had a visit by Dennis Anderson and his 2006 World Champion monster truck “Grave Digger”. Mr. Anderson is one of the nicest racers you could ever meet and was happy to answer my request to stop by and check out the library, and I even helped him find some rare specifications for a 1954 Willys that he is restoring. I plan to feature Dennis Anderson and his monster truck in my own version of “at your library” and wanted to share this with my fellow librarians to remind us that we should sieze every opportunity we are given to promote our libraries and look for ways we can connect with our users on a level they comfortable with. I guess if public libraries have leading authors for book talks, then it would be fitting for an automotive library to have monster trucks and race car drivers!

Leave a Reply

