LSO 2008 Fall Election

Posted: September 4, 2008 by Sho Ikeda in Announcements, Elections
Tags:

Candidates for each position are listed in alphabetical order. Each candidate has submitted an election statement, which follows their name. Please select one candidate for each position and e-mail arizonalso@gmail.com with your selections. Please use your arizona.edu e-mail address and include your first and last name in the e-mail.

The election is only open to students currently enrolled in SIRLS. The identities of voters shall be held in confidence throughout the election process by the LSO election supervisors except as necessary to ascertain voter eligibility.

The election will close on Sunday, September 7 at 11:59 pm.


Candidates for SIRLS Policy Committee Representative

* David Langen:

“I would like to be the student rep for the SIRLS Policy Committee. I am currently LSO Fundraising Coordinator and SLA Secretary. I have worked for the UA for 5 years and have seen how other departments run their grad programs. I feel this gives me a good base of knowledge to serve on this committee. Thank you.”

Candidates for LSO Social Activities Coordinator

* Michelle Martin:

“I would like to nominate myself for the Social Activities coordinator because I think it is important for the SIRLS community to unite in a social atmosphere in order to network with one another for professional reasons, to de-stress from work and school, and develop friendships/support. I would enjoy this position because it will give students and me an opportunity to explore what Tucson has to offer in entertainment and culture.”

* Brenda Taylor:

“I would like to nominate myself, Brenda Taylor, for the LSO Social Activities Coordinator. I currently just moved back to Tucson and want to be involved in the events and groups that are apart of the SIRLS program – this includes LSO.

I have some experience setting up events and activities as I was a Volunteer Girl Scout Neighborhood Manager for 3 years in Flagstaff. While I was the Neighborhood Manager, one of my responsibilities was to annually organize and execute a huge neighborhood encampment that included over a 100 girl scouts and about 40-50 parents.

In addition, I am the Volunteer Coordinator for the annual Arizona Celtic Highland Festival which takes place in Flagstaff every July. The Northern Arizona Celtic Heritage Society hosts this event every year and for the past 4 years I have been the Volunteer Coordinator for this festival. I am also the Membership Coordinator for this group and have assisted in planning several events and activities over the past 10 years with the President of the
organization.

I will be more than happy to help plan events for the LSO student organization as I really enjoy planning parties and creating fun for a variety of people.

Thanks for you attention and I hope that I am nominated as the LSO Social Acitivities Coordinator.”

Comments are closed.